Feb. 26, 2020

HARRISBURG — Rep. Karen Boback (R-Lackawanna/Luzerne/Wyoming) today announced the School Safety and Security Committee has awarded $175,000 in School Safety and Security Grants to school districts in the 117th Legislative District, including Dallas, Lackawanna Trail, Lake-Lehman, Northwest Area and Tunkhannock Area school districts.

“School safety is of paramount importance, not only to me, but to the thousands of families who send their children to school each morning,” Boback said. “As a mother, a grandmother and a former teacher, there is nothing more important to me than ensuring our schools are safe places for young people to learn and grow. My thanks go out the Committee for their generous investment in our community.”

Those receiving grants locally are:

• Dallas School District – $40,000.
• Lackawanna Trail School District – $30,000.
• Lake-Lehman School District – $35,000.
• Northwest Area School District – $30,000.
• Tunkhannock Area School District – $40,000.

The 17-member committee within the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency was created as part of Act 44 of 2018, a comprehensive school safety law passed in 2018. One of its duties is to help distribute both meritorious and competitive grants.

The 117th Legislative District encompasses all of Wyoming County; the borough of Dalton and the townships of Benton, La Plume and West Abington in Lackawanna County; and the boroughs of Dallas and Harveys Lake and the townships of Dallas, Fairmount, Franklin, Hunlock, Lake, Lehman and Ross in Luzerne County.

Representative Karen Boback
117th Legislative District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Michael Plummer